A Response to Facebook Question

A longtime friend saw the following graphic on my personal Facebook page a couple of days ago –

People vs Govt

– and asked me the following question:

“Not meaning to pick a fight — I promise to listen and not to rebut — but what areas of government don’t work for you, at any level, federal, state or local? Thanks in advance.”

Here’s how I responded:

“Hey R. – Sorry for taking so long to respond to your question.  You asked a serious question, and I wanted to take the time to answer seriously instead of a flip, half-assed answer.

“The biggest negative impact that government has had on my family and I is in the healthcare regulations brought on by the Affordable Healthcare Act, aka ObamaCare.

“Every year, I get a physical.  Being the same age that I am, you understand that monitoring the state of our health is extremely important.  But every year, it costs me more out of pocket to get that physical.  While the physical itself is covered 100%, the lab work that go along with that physical are only partially covered.  But it wasn’t always that way.

“Like you, I get my healthcare subsidized by my company, and every year we go through the sign-up process.  Each year, we are presented with different plans to choose from.  And each year, the number of plans are reduced, the deductibles rise, and coverage is often (for lack of a better word) tweaked from last year.  And each year, the HR Benefits person states that these changes are in response to the regulations of ObamaCare, and these changes are to bring our coverage into compliance.

“Before ObamaCare, my physicals including labs were covered 100%.  My deductible was minimal for the coverage selected.  The fees for routine doctor visits (for colds, aches, immunizations, etc.) were also minimal.  Now, doctors visit fees are twice what I used to pay, and the labs are several hundred dollars (more if I need to wear a heart monitor to check a condition that I have).

“But that’s just me.  Since my wife had cataract surgery, any eye examination is now a medical exam, which was not the case before.  And those visits are barely discounted through the insurance, leaving a huge fee that gets applied to a large deductible.  And that stings – a lot.

“But I’m not the only person affected by this.  I know for a fact that a person that I used to work with has had her family’s health care premiums triple in the past 7 years.

“My savings per year is not the $2,500 that was promised, but quite the opposite.  I’m paying more that I ever have for routine health care.

“When the government passes a law that it is not Constitutionally allowed to, which was against public opinion (remember the multiple townhalls that were held and the attendee’s told the Congresscritters “NO!”?), passing the law without a full-reading of the text, and fails on each and every promise that was given to gain public support, then yes, there is a problem with the government going against the wishes and best interests of the citizens of this country.

“Just remember – Every law or regulation that is passed must be funded by the taxpayer in one way or another.  Also, to rely on the government for anything long-term is stupidity at best and insanity at worst.  ObamaCare hasn’t lasted 7 years and it’s failing, and it was touted to be a long-term cost-saving solution to the supposed health crisis.

“Sorry for the long-winded answer, but I hope this answers your question.”

With the ObamaCare fiasco hitting before the election, and the FBI reopening the email investigation, I hope that the voters wake up and see that a career political operative like the Hildebeast is not the right person to right the ship, but a political outsider.

We’ll see…

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Health Care, Opinion, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.