Who Will Win in November?

At this point in time, it looks like Mitt Romney will win the Republican nomination for the Presidency.  On the other side is Barack Obama, who ran a near flawless campaign in 2008, but has failed to live up to the many promises made during that campaign.

Mitt (can I call you Mitt?) has lots of baggage to overcome.  Bainbridge is the least of his worries. Appearing to be out of touch with the average voter is going to be the biggest hurdle as, at least to me, he seems to not have a clue of the issues which concern mainstream America.  To me, his religion is dead last, and passing Romneycare in Massachusetts is fairly close to the bottom as well.  It will be interesting who will be selected to fill the VP slot.

The current President has much more to answer for.  The many unfulfilled campaign promises will be the biggest burden as well as an unemployment rate that blew past his in office promise of “no more than 8%”.  Indeed, the campaign promise of health care passed, but the provisions are being challenged in the Supreme Court, and the passing of the bill was about as contentious as any bill in recent history.  With his selection of Joe “Foulmouth” Biden as VP and the latest GSA and Secret Service scandals, it does make you wonder if amateur hour rolled into Washington for an extended stay.

The latest polls have Mitt and the President in a dead heat if the election was held today.  In other words, it’s a toss-up.  So regardless of your politics and who you want to win, who do you think will win in November?

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Election 2012, Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Who Will Win in November?

  1. The Griper says:

    I think a more interesting question would be is what type of strategy will each try to use in order to win?
    Another interesting question is what will the economy be like this summer? This is always a big factor in elections.

    the most important question tho is what decision will the Supreme Court come to in regards to Obamacare? that may end up being the biggest decider of this election, in my opinion.

  2. Tom says:

    As far as the economy is concerned, I think that somehow the numbers are going to be inflated or manipulated in some way to make it look like Obummer has done a bang-up job.

    Obummer will most likely tout his Health Care if SCOTUS doesn’t kill it. Otherwise, he will attack Romney’s record in the private industry and being out of touch with the common man.

    Romney will attack Obummer’s record of failure, broken promises, increased debt, and job-loss/unemployment. Obamacare will be another point depending on what happens this summer.

  3. Romney does give off the air of disconnect. And he’s quite “wooden,” too. I wish that he wouldn’t wear jeans in a pretense of being “the common man.” That image doesn’t fit him at all.

    I think that Obama will lose in November. I had been thinking that the election results would be close, but now I’m not so sure. See THIS. The bloom is off the rose, I think.

  4. I think that any of the republicans that are running could beat Obama. Even Romney. But what we need, since we are almost assured of Romney, is to make sure that we take back the Senate, and keep the house. That way, the house can keep Romney in check. Great post sir.

  5. Tom says:

    AOW – Mitt has to come across a lot better than he has in recent months, and revising his public image could be a start. He does need to do this, otherwise he will lose the election to Obummer because Obummer runs a very smart nearly flawless campaign.

    Robert – I’m not sure if Mitt can beat Obummer unless Mitt comes out and finishes strong and Obummer’s campaign implodes. And you are correct – it will all be for naught unless Conservatives win back Congress.

  6. Z says:

    First, I want to know what ROSE AOW is talking about 🙂 I think she’s right about the jeans…”wear khakis, Mitt, it’s more you”
    I think he’s got 7 months to appear more HUMAN and that he will. And I think his wife will help. And I’m eager to see if his sons can talk and how they’ll be used in the campaign. So far, one made a silly gaffe (that any Democrat son would have been ignored for having said by the media, of course), one apologized for his bro’s gaffe, and that’s all we’ve heard from 5 grown men. Weird, in my opinion.
    So…a lot depends on his VP choice, too. I like Portman but I think he’s another Romney. I think Romney needs to shake it up a little. I LOVE Ryan and am not as fond of Rubio now as I was.
    It’ll be a very interesting 7 months! But I think what Obama won’t gain in popularity, he’ll make up in voter fraud by the Left. I really do.

  7. pete says:

    I gotta go along with Giper. Circumstances and events in the month or two leading up to the election may be the turning point for one of the candidates. I think gasoline prices will play a big role and Romney should make American energy independence the centerpiece of his campaign. The middle class can’t afford European fuel prices – not now – not five to ten years from now. Then there’s the voter fraud factor in the swing states – especially Ohio. If I had to make a call I would say Romney in a real squeaker only because Obama’s policies have hurt so many people where it really hurts – in the wallet. But I wouldn’t bet the farm on it!

  8. The media will see to it Obama wins, no matter who runs against him. The media covers for Obama, always has. Always will.

Comments are closed.