I’m Done…

…probably for a long time if not for good.

Today is my birthday, a time of reflection of what is important, what the priorities of my life should be, and the time in which to accomplish them.

Unfortunately, this blog is no longer one of them.

A comment (in part) from a fellow blogger, Always on Watch, stated,

I find posting an exercise in futility.

And at the moment, I’m finding that not only posting, but finding the time to research and write intelligent posts are exercises in futility.  It also doesn’t help that researching for posts brings me face to face with the insanity that isn’t getting better, but getting worse.  The world of political spin is in total control, and show no signs of abating.  The original incarnation on Blogger was titled “Tom’s Common Sense”, and I’ll tell you right now that there isn’t a whole lot of common sense out there – it’s the exact opposite.  The country, if not the world, is going to hell in a hand-basket on an express train.

If or when I come back to the world of blogging, it will be on a different site with a different provider and a new name.  As for this blog, the comments will be closed out in two weeks after today, and the site backed up.  The intent is to keep this site open for your viewing pleasure, and the backup (with the posts & your comments) would be restored on the new site.  In the meantime, I will post occasionally on Twitter under @tomsplaceblog.  If someone wants to contact me, you can write me at toms.place.blog [at] gmail.com.

Until we meet again…

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m Done…

  1. Ron says:

    Sorry to hear this, but I know the feeling. A lot of bloggers are taking extended breaks, or moving to twitter etc. I’ve found that posting less often and on a variety of subjects/interests keeps me from getting discouraged. The key for me is to not pressure myself to have an opinion on everything that happens.

    I have a feeling you’ll eventually start to miss blogging. I look forward to your return.

  2. Braden says:

    I’m going to miss your well written posts, my friend.

    I sympathize and share the same feelings in terms of blogging. It’s a major pain in the ass to compose a post, and I just haven’t the time to do it as much as I once did. Not that I’m complaining, but since becoming a stay at home Dad with a three-year old daughter … well, you can sere where I’m at, right?

    Anyway, a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do … and I wish you and yours all of the very best.

    Hopefully one day, you’ll find that spark of creativity again and will once again fire up the blog.

    Keep in touch, my friend.

    Best –
    Braden

  3. pete says:

    Tom,
    I’m personally sad to hear the news, but I also know exactly where you’re coming from. Even though I’ve been at it for less than 3 years it’s getting harder and more annoying, rather than easier and more pleasurable. I’ll definitely miss your meticulously written and insightful posts! By the way, I won’t forget that you were probably the first blog to give me a link. In the scope of things I know it sounds like small potatoes, but I was thrilled that a blog as well written and put together as yours would want to be associated with little ole’ me. I truly wish you all the happiness and success in the world. So long, and thanks for everything.

  4. Mike says:

    I’ll find you on twitter. I’m @jackdanielsman.Everyone is correct.Bloging and all is a PITA. I don’t even post much on G+ but view it a lot and have made a few contacts. Even email is getting to be a pain. Same old jokes and stories.

  5. Tom,
    I understand. But I will miss you!

    I’m still slogging on — for the moment, anyway.

    So many of my blogging friends have thrown in the towel the past few years.

    • Tom says:

      Dear Friends – Thank you for the kind comments. I hope to visit your blogs on occasion, and have a restart of this blog soon. All my best to you.

Comments are closed.