So Sorry…

As some of my 3 1/2 faithful readers noticed, Tom’s Place went offline for a couple of days due to a coding error that conflicted with a new policy instituted by my site provider.  This new policy also mandates that my spam catcher is now offline permanently, so now all of your comments get routed to an approval queue.  Nuts….  But at least I can read & edit code, otherwise you wouldn’t be reading this.

So now I’m debating whether to change hosts or not.  I can’t really complain – I’m not paying anything for a free, independent WordPress site, so the restriction policies make a certain amount of sense.  But it’s still annoying that no warning is given before stuff happens, and I find out after the fact, i.e., the blog dies for no apparent reason.  The decision is tempered with the fact that I’m not posting as much as I used to.

Do I change providers (again), or stay put?  As if this is the biggest decision that I have right now…

Work is still busy with more and more projects headed my way with fewer people available to cover what is needed.  And this past week, I found out that I’m about to be tagged with a big project with a short timeline that I have had no advance warning on.  Just another log on the blazing fire that is my work life.  Sigh…  I wonder if I can refuse the project…  We’ll see.

Hope everyone else is doing well.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Misc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So Sorry…

  1. Joe says:

    Who would you change to?

    Blogger has been doing some strange stuff.

    Some of the sites I’ve regularly visited won’t take the comments.

    It can be real frustrting.

  2. Braden says:

    Who is your internet service provider? Is it DSL or Comcast, etc.?

    I host my own site via a virtual machine from my desktop machine. It’s nice having complete control over my site instead of having to rely on wordpress.com or blogger.com.

    Only thing is, if you can and do decide to go that right, just make sure you keep up on plugin and wordpress updates.

    I installed a couple plugins that monitor my site and will inform me of any attempted wrongdoings; as well as being able to ban any IP address associated.

  3. Braden says:

    grrrr … “right” should be “route.” Sorry

  4. Tom says:

    Joe – I left Blogger years ago in favor of WordPress. Part of that was to get away from the restrictions that Blogger was putting on the coding of a template, the other part was the commenting system was just plain ugly. I have no idea where I would go.

    Braden – I have Charter, and it explicitly forbids self-hosted web sites. Nice thought, though…

  5. Yabu says:

    Check out Hosting Matters.

    http://hostmatters.com/

Comments are closed.