It’s Been A While…

Looking back over the blog, I find it’s almost hard to believe it has been a month since the last post.  But given the amount of time that has been spent at & on work, it hasn’t been much of a surprise.

Work has been an understated insane, chaotic rat’s nest of confusion and business.  I’m submitting reports to four different supervisors (two of which I directly report to) and am involved in one super huge project with several small projects where I report to other project managers.  Without getting into specifics, I am barely treading water, and I’ve let the supervisors know it.  Their response has been to request more people to do the work, which is fine.  The problem is that there is no one available, and if a person is available, it’s either a contractor or a person that I get for an extremely short period of time.  By the time I’ve brought the person up to speed (time that I have to spend away from the other projects to train the person), they are taken away for another project, I’ve lost precious time in getting things done, and probably should have just done it myself.  I have repeatedly proposed that a core group of people be dedicated to the department instead of the current revolving door method, but that seems to have fallen on deaf ears.

The bottom line is that I’m spending huge amounts of time on the weekends doing work, losing sleep, and running my health down.  A trip to the doctor last week stressed that something needs to change, either my attitude from caring to not giving a shit, or someplace else to work.  I’m really considering the last option, and here’s a couple more reasons why.

I just had the one-year anniversary with the company last month, and no review.  I asked about it, and the supervisor stated that we would schedule one later this month.  How much do any of you want to bet that any pay or raise in compensation will not be retroactive to the anniversary date?  Any takers?  (Side note – I quit my first job for this very reason.  Rule number 1 – Never screw around with an employee’s pay.)

Second is the reason I’m writing today.  With Snowmageddon currently in progress, the company wisely closed the building so people wouldn’t risk life & limb to get in to work.  The catch?  In order to be paid for the day, a benefit day (vacation or sick/personal) must be taken.  My wife works for a much smaller company, and they were given the day off with pay without having to burn a vacation or sick day.  (Rule number 2 – Never treat an employee badly.)

Needless to say, I’m not working on anything today, and couldn’t care less.  If I’m burning a personal or sick day, or not getting paid for the day, then I’m not working on anything company related.

Now I already know that the response of the powers that be will say that if you don’t like working here, go find somewhere else to work.  I’m pretty sure that when the economy picks up, there will be a bunch of people flipping the bird to the various powers as they are walking out the door.  And that’s the rub – the economy.

Michigan’s unemployment rate as of December 2010 is 11.7%.  The housing market is crap, so moving out of state is out of the question.  There aren’t many companies hiring in my area, and I’m already driving an hour one way to get to this job.  Just a bad situation, and the company knows it.  They know it isn’t right, but they don’t care – they have their employees over the barrel.

Bottom line is that I’m going to have to hunker down and endure the hell until something better comes along.  But it’s going to be hard.  Very hard.

Hopefully it won’t be another month before the next post.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Business and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Been A While…

  1. pete says:

    Been there before Tom. Many companies use economic downturns as excuses to screw over employees. I started a new job right after 9/11 and the company that hired me broke every promise they made. Their stance was that we were basically lucky to even have a job, so just shut your trap and give us the 10 to 12 hours per day. What can I say except hang in there and the tide will eventually turn – hopefully.

  2. Tom,
    I was beginning to worry about your well being.

    Thanks for letting us know that you’re okay!

  3. Mike says:

    Two simple rules Tom.
    1)Never volunteer for anything.
    2)Don’t do more than you are expected or required to do.

    I learned the 1st.rule after I volunterred for the USMC and Boot Camp at Parris Island some 46 plus years ago. And the second rule after lots of experience.

  4. Tom says:

    Pete – It isn’t an excuse, it’s bad policy. People will do the bare minimum, and then leave when other opportunities arise. The end result is that the company will end up losing talent, and have to hire & retrain the replacements.

    AOW – I’m doing OK, just not great. The antibiotics are kicking in, keeping a bad cold/sinus infection from turning into walking pneumonia. The stress is not helping, though.

    Mike – I don’t have to volunteer for anything – the supervisors do that for me. As far as doing anything extra, I don’t have the time for it.

  5. Joe says:

    We’re glad whenever you’re able to post!

  6. Z says:

    Boy, Tom, you’ve really been going through stress…i’m so sorry and hope things straighten out or you find a job you like a LOT better. xx

Comments are closed.