Holiday Redux

The past couple of weeks have been very busy.  The main project that I am working on is late, and of course, it’s up to me to get everything back in order before the Christmas break.  It doesn’t matter that others have put the project in this condition, you know what rolls downhill (rhymes with “it”) and who’s at the bottom (me). 

So, being short of time, I thought I would repost (or regift) a post that still brings back pleasant memories and more than a few chuckles.  So without further ado, here is a post from December 2008:


A few years ago, I was buddies with an avid fisherman named Dave.  Dave is a good person, happy-go-lucky, and dreamed of getting a boat.  He finally got one, and took several of us to Lake Monroe in Indiana for the initial launching of his boat.  While we were casting around, catching nothing, we started noticing that the boat was a little sluggish in moving around.  Looking into the bilge, we found that the boat was taking on water!

We made it back to the dock in time, and got the boat out of the water.  It took a 1/2 hour for all the water to drain, and Dave was royally embarrassed.  Like a good friend who has recieved his share of harrassment & not one to let things go, I worked on the following & sent it to him for Christmas –

The Twelve Days of Fishing

{To be sung to the tune of “The Twelve Days of Christmas”}

On the first day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
A sinking red and black boat.

On the second day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the third day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the fourth day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Four fishy men (!),
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the fifth day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Five golden hooks…{birds eye with a rest here – always!}
Four fishy men,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the sixth day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Six rods and reels,
Five golden hooks…
Four fishy men,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the seventh day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Seven jigs a jigging,
Six rods and reels,
Five golden hooks…
Four fishy men,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the eighth day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Eight sunfish sunning,
Seven jigs a jigging,
Six rods and reels,
Five golden hooks…
Four fishy men,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the ninth day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Nine buzzbaits a buzzing,
Eight sunfish a sunning,
Seven jigs a jigging,
Six rods and reels,
Five golden hooks…
Four fishy men,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the tenth day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Ten carps a carping,
Nine buzzbaits a buzzing,
Eight sunfish a sunning,
Seven jigs a jigging,
Six rods and reels,
Five golden hooks…
Four fishy men,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the eleventh day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Eleven worms a crawling,
Ten carps a carping,
Nine buzzbaits a buzzing,
Eight sunfish a sunning,
Seven jigs a jigging,
Six rods and reels,
Five golden hooks…
Four fishy men,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

On the twelfth day of fishing, my buddy Dave brought to me,
Twelve minnows swimming (or did that one just have babies?),
Eleven worms a crawling,
Ten carps a carping,
Nine buzzbaits a buzzing,
Eight sunfish a sunning,
Seven jigs a jigging,
Six rods and reels,
Five golden hooks…
Four fishy men,
Three biting bass,
Two bobbers bobbing,
And a sinking red and black boat.

Merry Christmas, Everyone!

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday Redux

  1. Tom,
    Cute poem.

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Mike says:

    “You know who does the hard things; Those who can”
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Comments are closed.