The Big 5-0

Yes, break out the black on black balloons – I have officially passed the half-century mark today.

Funny….I don’t feel old….except for the knees.

It seems every birthday, I pause and reflect on both the blessings and the mistakes of my life.  Believe me, there are plenty of both.  But the realization is that everyone goes through this journey called life with different experiences, but it is what makes us who we are. 

Part of that journey is change – and the past couple of years has seen plenty of upheaval in both the personal and professional lives.  There is a cliché that fits this perfectly – “The only constant in life is change.”  Believe me, no one lives the perfect life without change, and without mistakes.

All anyone can do is try to do better while moving forward.

I know that in this blog I piss and moan about this and that, whatever happens to push my buttons that week.  But at the same time, I do like to post some fun things.  “I Want a Cookie” has been one of my favorite stories for many years.  But that doesn’t mean this blog is going to turn into a mindless fluff blog. 

I’m not backing down from posting what I think on subjects that catch my interest.  Five years ago this month, this blog was started by writing about what was bugging me in business.  It somehow morphed into a political commentary blog, perhaps because I began to see the relationship between government/politicians and the state of the economy & business.  If I were to guess, it’s because I was traveling a lot at that time, and had lots of time to think and research.  And that, my readers, is one of the keys to educating yourself on the world around us – time.

None of us has time, especially those who work long hours to support our families.  Perhaps that is why the politicians have had such free reign in government for so long – we have all been so busy in our corner of the world trying to live the American dream we have forgotten that our responsibilities as citizens of this country is to keep our elected representatives accountable for their actions.  We have also fallen into the fallacy that government would take care of us when we get old.  But enough of the ranting –

It’s time to enjoy this once-in-a lifetime day with my special spouse and crazy cats.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Big 5-0

  1. Joe says:

    I vaguely remember my 50th.

    Happy Birthday!!

  2. Happy Birthday!

    I’d like to be 50 again. I’m approaching 60 now.

  3. pete says:

    Tom,
    Happy birthday! May you have many more years filled with joy, adventure, and prosperity.

  4. cary says:

    Happy Birthday, a week late. I’m a couple years behind you, so as long as you are still moving around I feel like I’ve got a fighting chance!

  5. Tom says:

    Joe – Memory, not beauty, goes before age…

    AOW – And you are still as active as you were 10 years ago! (Mr. AOW told me…)

    Pete – Thank You!

    Cary – If we are on the right side of the grass, then we’re doing pretty good.

Comments are closed.