It Was a Dark and Stormy Night…

image

Not really, but it always sounds good!

This is the first of several traveling stories experienced by yours truly.  A post by GeeeeeZ! relating experiences concerning Kulula Airlines is the inspiration for this series of posts.

So without further ado…


Many years ago, I was a young engineer working for a small company in Illinois.  It was my first job out of college, so of course, I wanted to make a good impression, and took on a number of projects.

One of those projects had me flying from Chicago’s O’Hare airport to Detroit for an installation over in Chatham, Ontario.  It was an exciting time for me, my first airplane flight in a new professional position, and a visit to a foreign country.  The excitement diminished somewhat as I started going through the security checkpoint.

I went through the metal detector at least 4 times.  I had to empty my pockets, take off my shoes, remove my belt, and I still set the metal detector off.  Not a piece of metal on me, and it still goes off.  They finally pat me down, pass me through, and leave me with a pile of belongings at the end of the security area holding up my pants.  Of course, everyone else sails through without a problem, and looks at me like “what happened to him?”

After boarding the plane and having a blissfully uneventful flight, I picked up my luggage in the baggage claim area, and went to the rental car company to pick up a vehicle.  I fill out the paperwork, hand them a newly minted company credit card, and wouldn’t you know it – they didn’t have any cars available.  Then it hit me –

Here I am, in the city famous for making automobiles, and I can’t even get one

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Humor, Traveling Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Was a Dark and Stormy Night…

  1. BB-Idaho says:

    Air travel and security reminds me of a time back in the 70s when I was involved in cosmetic chemistry. We sent a young chemist east to NYC
    to monitor the synthesis of sodium perborate, a
    white powder used as an adjunct in permanent wave neutralizers. Part of the quality program involved
    saving an amount of each pre-batch in a small plastic bag with the batch #. On his return, he changed flights in Philadelphia. As he rushed to
    his concourse, his suitcase flew open scattering
    plastic bags of white powder hither and yon. In an instant, he was up against a wall with the words “Freeze, sucker” and drawn weapons. The alert police team leader snatched up a baggie, and despite our poor chemist’s assertions, placed a small amount on his tongue. Sodium perborate
    is hard on skin, but horrid on tongues, so the
    guy’s tongue started smoking. Our chemist returned later than scheduled, but he had a good story for us. Small wonder I left cosmetics for the safer field of initiating explosives! 🙂

  2. I hate traveling by air now. Too many hassles with all the security.

  3. Tom says:

    BB – Thanks for the story!

    AOW – I hate traveling, period. Traveling back & forth to Germany in 2008 for the better part of a year pretty well cured me of the travel bug.

Comments are closed.