Just A Thought or Two…

Over the past few weeks, I’ve not been listening to the radio, but listening to podcasts on an iPod that my wife got me last Christmas.  And I’ll tell you, it’s refreshing to listen to books on tape rather than the doom and gloom of the various radio personalities and getting depressed while traveling to and from work.

Don’t get me wrong.  Rush, Sean, & Mark are all great sources of information (although often one-sided), but I get tired of listening to the ranting.  On the other hand, I get royally POed at the media for not reporting all sides of the issues, or just not saying anything at all.  Most of all, it’s the bias from all parties – which is not what the duties of the media entail.  Freedom of the press is a great responsibility, and must not lend itself to partisanship, but it does.

I’m also POed at the politicians, our duly elected leaders that forget whom they are working for once they’re in office.  They suddenly grow a conscience when election time rolls around, and shift blame like a small child that has been caught doing something bad like writing on the walls with crayon.  Unfortunately for them, like the crayon marks, the record shows exactly what these morons have been up to.

Politicians have always been at the center of distain, promising one thing to get elected and doing another once removed from the campaign trail. Some are pretty good, some are ok, and then there are the ones that are only in it for themselves to garner money & power for themselves and their cronies.  It really doesn’t matter what political party they belong to, the actions are usually pretty close to being the same.

The bunch that is in power in Washington have been the worst of the lot as far as I’m concerned.  I still remember the promises of an ethical Congress, transparency of legislation under consideration, and an increased concern for the citizens of the United States.  Instead, deals were made under the table to pass legislation that would increase the debt of the country for questionable benefits of all citizens.  I see nothing that the current Congress or Administration has done except to push this country further into debt and increase the power of government.  And when a real (?) crisis hit, no leadership whatsoever, only the same finger-pointing that has been the trademark of this Administration.  And now I hear that the chief clown Obozo has endorsed building the mosque near the site of the World Trade Centers. No wonder their one-time supporters are now questioning the “change” that these bozos are actually delivering.

It’s not only the supporters that are observing the imploding of Obozo.  Mike’s America found this gem from our brothers across the pond citing the top ten reasons that Obozo is failing:

1. The Obama presidency is out of touch with the American people
2. Most Americans don’t have confidence in the president’s leadership
3. Obama fails to inspire
4. The United States is drowning in debt
5. Obama’s Big Government message is falling flat
6. Obama’s support for socialized health care is a huge political mistake
7. Obama’s handling of the Gulf oil spill has been weak-kneed and indecisive
8. US foreign policy is an embarrassing mess under the Obama administration
9. President Obama is muddled and confused on national security
10. Obama doesn’t believe in American greatness

It is time that these dreamers have a reality check.  Unfortunately, I fear it’s the beginning of a nightmare from which waking up will be difficult to do because we’re damn near in a coma at this point in time.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Government, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just A Thought or Two…

  1. I don’t yet have an iPod. But I do have a CD player in my car, and most often, if Mr. AOW is not with me and listening to Blue Collar Radio, I’m listening to fiction — books on CD that I get at the library.

  2. BHO supporters who are still on board with him will never abandon him. He has them hypnotized, or something.

  3. Tom says:

    AOW – The true Obozo supporters will not leave him – they are too invested in his programs. But the people that voted for him under the “hope” & “change” mantra are having their doubts. Just look at Obozo’s poll numbers – they’re dropping like rocks.

  4. Hayden says:

    It is good to make sure one gets away from the news at times. I think it is necessary in order to keep our sanity. I find I do this as well. I have made myself only listen to music stations when in the car. I too think the conservative talk radio is a valued entity, but it can become overwhelming at times.

    As for Obama, I do think that he has die hard followers but also, many other people who voted for him in hopes of something new or some kind of new politician are now seeing the mistake they made. I hope they and many others will not make the same mistake twice.

  5. Pete says:

    I too have grown a bit tired and weary with talk radio. Like you, I’m very glad that these people are around and that they’re as popular as they are, but too much of anything can quickly become boring and predictable. I used to listen a lot more when I had to drive for work purposes, (talk radio always seemed far better than listening to Stairway to Heaven 20 times a day) now that I no longer need to drive everyday, I feel a bit liberated from the constant babble. When I do listen now, it’s a bit more fresh and interesting.

  6. Tom says:

    Hayden – Sanity checks are always good. Unfortunately, no one really did one for Obozo and what he stood for (at least on the Lib / Dem side)

    Pete – Too much of one thing is bad for you. Moderation is the key to keeping one’s perspective.

Comments are closed.