Michigan Senior Olympics 2010 – Weightlifting

My wife participated in the Michigan Senior Olympics in weightlifting this year.  She won a silver medal in her age group with a successful bench-press lift of 100 pounds. 

Which is why I open doors for her…

No, I didn’t participate – I’m still too young for the competition, and the fellows that would be in my age class are lifting 50+ pounds more than I could ever hope for.  Maybe golf next year…

Regardless, it is heartening to see people in their 60’s, 70’s, and even 80’s relatively fit and participating in this competition.  I saw one 65-year old man lifting 270 pounds!  WOW!!

Get off the couch and get healthy.  My wife and I did, and feel much better both physically and mentally.  Sitting around, watching the tube, and eating Doritos & ice cream is a recipe for a coronary.  And we all don’t want that, right?

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Weightlifting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Michigan Senior Olympics 2010 – Weightlifting

  1. pete says:

    Congrats to your wife, and to you as well! I admire people who step out of the comfort zone and challenge themselves. I also found that a healthy body actually helps you think clearer. Take care.

  2. Robbie O says:

    Hey Tom!
    congrats to your wife. I participate in these games every year. Cycling, track & field, swimming.
    I try a different event every year and this year at the track there was a WWII veteran who was running the 100 meter dash & other events.
    He had a string of medals. It was amazing.
    I still hope to be doing it when I am that age.

  3. Tom says:

    Thank you!

Comments are closed.