Swan Song?

closed-sign3As many of you know, blogging takes up a tremendous amount of time, especially if you want to do the research and get the facts correct (I’m talking about the responsible ones, not the lot that likes to shoot from the hip without a care if the truth is known or not).  I’m finding it increasingly difficult to find the time to research and write posts that are reasonably legible (and readable) as well as being on target & timely.  I hate to dash off some half-assed post on the spur of the moment – they’re usually pretty ugly.

Work, while a blessing, is absolutely nuts.  I’m working around 45-50 hours a week, and adding 50-60 minutes of commuting both ways does not leave much time for anything extracurricular.  Yard work and an extremely reduced workout schedule takes up the rest of the time.  Considering that I was out of work for 10 months, I’ve gone from one extreme to another.

As a result, blogging is dang-near impossible.  So I’m seriously considering shutting the blog down for an indefinite period of time, probably for the summer.  It doesn’t mean that I’m going to disappear – it just means that I won’t be around as much visiting your blogs, and writing posts here.  But I would like to write at least this one last post with some comments on recent events and some opinions:

The oil well disaster in the Gulf of Mexico is a disaster from many different angles.  The differences of opinions on the ecological impact are being speculated as often as the weather changes, but it isn’t good by any means.  The political spin of “the government is there to help” is far from reality as the first government responders were attorneys, and President Obozo can’t personally stop anything no matter what he says.  There is no doubt that there were mistakes made on the part of BP, but the overlooked fact remains that 11 lives were lost in trying to supply the world with the energy supplied by oil.

Politics as usual is in Washington no matter what the promises of the Democratic (and Republican) leaders has been demonstrated again with the Sestak affair.  Political dealings are the bane of the government originally envisioned by the Founders of this country.  A quote from The American Thinker states:

“Politics” is not “government.” In fact, the politicization of government is a reason for many miseries.

And the politicians wonder why the American people have gone off the reservation and formed TEA Parties…

Which brings up the illegal immigration issue.  Obozo, in his typical arrogant anti-American fashion, praises a foreign country and disses his own –

image What part of “illegal” do the politicians, attorneys, and other assorted morons not understand?

The longer that the healthcare legislation is being examined, the more of a Charlie-Fox that legislation is being revealed to be.  Examinations are showing that the legislation is the exact opposite of the promises of the Congress and Obozo.  Hang on to your wallets, America, it’s coming.

I do not oppose Obozo for the color of his skin, I oppose him for the ideology, policies and practices that he represents.  From the time that he took office, he has just about justified all my concerns.  An article in The Weekly Standard states some of the concerns that I had much better than I can:

Most striking is his unbounded faith in government—and an equally unbounded faith in his own abilities as a self-proclaimed transformational leader. Then there is his contempt (not too strong a word, in my judgment) for the private sector. Government, he seems to think, is a supermagnet for supersmart idealists from academia, while the business world is populated by dullards motivated by a crass and shortsighted desire for profit.

Obama apparently believes that government should be able to stop all man-made disasters before they happen. “As we continue our response effort,” he said, “we’re also moving quickly on steps to ensure that a catastrophe like this never happens again.” In fact, neither he nor anyone else can “ensure” any such outcome, unless he proposes to call an end to all of the progress that has been made since the beginning of the industrial revolution, if not before.

In his analysis of the situation, Obama has been quick to blame this disaster on the supposed sins of free enterprise and private companies seeking private gain, the public be damned. Without citing any evidence of wrongdoing, he talked about the “oil industry’s cozy and sometimes corrupt relationship with government regulators” and how that has meant “little or no regulation at all.” Clearly, it does not occur to him that the oil companies have a powerful motive to self-regulate—in light of the physical threat to their own workers and the huge potential damage to the long-term viability of their companies that awaits anything less than an exceptional safety performance.

In thinking so poorly of business and business people, it may be only natural for Obama to look upon himself and his friends from academia as being​—well—a cut above the ordinary (and quite possibly corrupt) people doing actuarial work for insurance companies, or toiling in the engineering departments of companies like BP. This holier-than-thou, smarter-than-everyone-else ivory tower elitism has unfortunately become a defining element of the Obama presidency.

And that is exactly one of the concerns that I have with Obozo – he is an academic without real work experience.  Thus, he believes that theory will work in reality.  We all know how well that works…

There is a lot more that I could write on concerning the Administration’s neglect on calling a terrorist a terrorist (especially when tied to radical Islam), lack of support for our troops, and apparently turning against our long-time ally Israel.  Then we have the economy and high unemployment while increasing the national debt to spend the country’s way to prosperity.  There is one truth in all of this – we are in trouble as a country, and Obozo does not have the competence nor has the competence around him to get this country back on track.  Hubris is a terrible weakness, and We The People will be paying the price.

“The natural cure for an ill-administration, in a popular or representative constitution, is a change of men.”Alexander Hamilton, Federalist No. 21, 1787

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Environment, Government, Immigration, Politics, Radical Islam, Terrorism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Swan Song?

  1. Tom:

    Do what you gotta do. I’ve been blogging since 2004 and I refuse to quit. I’m not too terribly far from retirement, in my 60s, and — with that — trust me, I’ll take up the sword from you and continue.

    That is, if you mean Conservative with a capitol C.

    Everyone understands your actions. Blogging isn’t for babies. Which is why most new blogs don’t last more than a month. If that.

    Blogging is tough. It demands numerous hours. It demands visits and links and research. That is, if you have an actual VALID blog — as you point out.

    Do what you must. The torch will be carried.

    BZ

  2. this one last post


    Oh, no! I hate to see you leave the blogosphere!

    I really hope that you’ll change your mind, Tom, and post once in a while.

  3. Mustang says:

    Don’t quit, Tom … you’re a good writer. You could make it a weekly.

  4. Joe says:

    Don’t go anywhere. I’ll be right over to shake you and shake you until you come to your senses.

    We need voices like yours to add sense and steadiness to the blogosphere.

    Many bloggers do not blog every day…most, I would say. I know I don’t.

    But blog when you can…please.

    (One of my many mottos (motti?) in life is: Whenever you just can’t do something…don’t.)

    I look forward to reading more!

    Regardless, stay well and God bless.

  5. Tom says:

    Everyone – Thank you all for your encouragement & understanding, but I do want to make something clear –

    I’m not quitting – just taking a summer sabbatical.

    But I do reserve the option to post as the mood suits me…which is what we all tend to do anyway 😉

    I’ve been blogging since October 2005, and have no intention on quitting. Yes, I’ve been discouraged because it doesn’t seem to matter what I write, nothing changes, and have been tempted to quit and write an “I give up” post. But I can’t…not now…

    Our country needs all the voices Of the People, By the People, and For the People in posting our thoughts on what is happening in this great country of ours. Yeah, it’s tough, but dammit, someone has got to write it. In my case, at least for the short term, it’s not going to be as often as I would like.

    Stay tuned, and check back once in a while – if not for the posts, then for the daily blurb at the top of the blog. See you around the blogosphere.

  6. Mike says:

    I hear you on all of that Tom. Sometimes I get so aggravated the only thing to do is shut the damn computer off. Some of the things this administration and Congress says and does is beyond belief. And lets not forget the Senators either and I don’t mean the old Washington Senators baseball team.
    “Semper Fi”

  7. Debbie says:

    You are certainly right about the time it takes to blog, and do it right. I’ve gotten to posting fewer articles and taking more time to smell the roses. We can get too involved in what’s going on in the world, the bad scary stuff, that we don’t take enough time to enjoy the good.

  8. Indigo Red says:

    Know what you mean, Tom. Blogging is intense and with the rate of breaking news, it’s easy to get overwhelmed. Obama had it planned from the start to keeps critics scrambling so no one could concentrate on anything for too long. And when we can, just admit to the lie and move on.

    Now, to you post, you write that …”Obozo – he is an academic without real work experience.” That’s not exactly true. He worked at Baskin-Robbins in Hawaii as a teen which gives me an idea. It’s been difficult representing Obama in cartoon form so I suggest combining his B-R job with his penchant for leaving the WH for ice cream – Obama as a melting ice cream cone.

  9. Tom, apparently you’re not the only one.

    I used to visit “PASADENA CLOSET CONSERVATIVE.”

    I click on his link and his blog isn’t even THERE anymore! Gone!

    BZ

  10. Tom says:

    Mike – I so hear you! I watched Obozo last Tuesday, and the half-truths & lies he was spouting off raised the blood pressure 30 points!

    Debbie – You are correct in taking time to enjoy life. Too often, we can get wrapped up in what the morons of the world try to inflict upon us.

    Indigo Red – It’s tough and overwhelming. And I would just enjoy Obozo melting like the Wicked Witch of the East – I just think it’s going to be BP oil that’s going to do it.

    BZ – PCC is gone? Dang…I enjoyed his posts…

    All – I think I’m going to be back sooner than later. Blogging is somewhat of an addiction, and I’m suffering some withdrawal symptoms…I think I might need a fix!

Comments are closed.