Happy Mother’s Day

I know I’m late getting this post out – just so dang busy…

I will not be spending Mother’s Day with my mom – she just lives too far away, so flowers & a card with a phone call will have to suffice (no candy – more on that below).

This may be my mother’s last Mother’s Day.  She is in the end stages of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and the disease has progressed to the point that nothing can be done.  She is on oxygen 24-hours a day, and under constant pain medication.  The medication has screwed up her sense of taste and smell, which is a blow to her since she has always enjoyed her chocolate and the flowers in the garden.  She still has my dad with her, and their dog is a constant companion to her.  It could be worse, but it could definitely be better.

While we have had our differences throughout the years, and words less than civilized have passed between us, there is always one constant:

I love you, Mom.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Holiday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Angel says:

    thanks Tom HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!!to your mom then! (hugsss)

  2. Man, I’m sorry to read of that, Tom. My mom passed away in 2002, my dad last year. Take all the time you can with your parents; there are so many things I wish I’d done and said. It’s like the song says: “Don’t it always seem to go, that you don’t know what you got ’til it’s gone.”

    BZ

  3. Ken Taylor says:

    I hope your mom had a great Mothers Day Tom. I lost my mom to alziemers five years ago this August and still remember those good days before the disease took her last memories of me away in 2002.

    God bless your mom and you and like you stated no matter what we love our mom’s.

  4. It is supremely difficult to watch a parent fade away. I went through that process with my father.

  5. Tom says:

    Thank you one and all for your kind words.

Comments are closed.