New Email & Template For Tom’s Place

emailimage

Tom’s Place now has a new email address (shown at the right and on the “About” page.  Hopefully, I won’t miss emails – the other service wasn’t very easy to use.

I’m also working on a template based on the previous template that will change colors and headers based upon dates (part of which has already been rolled out).  Of course, the thoughts for the day will also continue, although I’m hoping to tie those quotes based upon specific dates as well.

A question:  Does anyone use “tags” to find posts?

Yeah, I know, I’m a bit-head…but only as a hobby, and between searching for jobs and studies.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Email & Template For Tom’s Place

  1. Mike says:

    Tom I don’t think it’s a good idea to put your email address where anyone can see it. You’ll get spammed like crazy. I keep mine set so you have to register and log-on to comment. I use wordpress the paid for version and have all sorts of support and whatnot. I even have my own tech guru that designs web sites and blogs and is a personal friend.It’s not even a good idea to put anything like what I am talking about in comments.
    miketrani dot blog slash Not even the http as bots can and do pick these up. I better change that.

  2. Tom says:

    Mike – The graphic image is just that – a graphic image. An email address is not associated with it – no code for a email harvesting spambot to be able to get a hold of. And spammers just do not go around to each potential website looking for addresses – just takes too much time. That’s why they use automated tools. Also, most of the spam comes from sites that I have registered with that have sold my address to advertisers. Last, one of the nice things about Gmail is that the spam controls are fairly strict (at least on my other accounts).

  3. Mike says:

    Hi Tom,Now I understand as I hadn’t clicked it from the first time I saw the little icon.But couldn’t someone just type that into an email??. My knowledge of these things is limited remember.
    Happy New Year.It’s got to be better than this past year. Or not.

    Semper Fi”

    I am surely glad I am with Time-Warner and behind a firewall and router with Trend-Micro firewall and anti-virus.Even Start Logic my web server sends me email when someone posts on the blog so I can approve or ban them forever.I can even refuse to let them comment if I remember correctly.

  4. Braden says:

    I started to use tags, makes searching easier I think. Also, you should try the WPTouch plugin. View my site on your mobile device to see what I mean. DBCache reloaded also works well. Nice header, btw. 🙂

Comments are closed.