Good News, Bad News

First, the good news – I passed my exam!!  After four hours of testing, I am now a certified Project Management Professional (aka, PMP).  Nice having a title – hope it opens some doors to employment.  But my brain hurts…

Now the bad news – My mother went into the hospital over the weekend.  She has a degenerative disease of the lungs, and it doesn’t look good.  My father and I do expect her to recover from this latest bout and leave the hospital in a couple of weeks, but neither one of us thinks that she will last through the winter.  Best I go down to see her while the weather is still decent (they live 9 hours away).

I’m not looking forward to this – I’m going to hate seeing my mom like this…

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Good News, Bad News

  1. Enjoy and record the time you have with your parents. My largest regret is that I didn’t sit down with both my parents, individually, and records their thoughts and past and history and then archive these thoughts and memories for the future of my family. Now, with my Dad having passed away in February of this year and my mother having passed in 2002, there are photographs and books but little information as to who they are and what they meant to the family.

    This is a huge regret.

    I am sorry to hear this about your mother.

    BZ

  2. Tom says:

    BZ – Thank you for your condolences.

    I already know most of the family history, so that isn’t much of a problem – what is the problem is that the history isn’t very good. It’s full of people basically destroying themselves. I’m the only member of my family (both sides) that went to and graduated from college, and it looks like I’m going to be the only one for a while unless my son decides that he wants to go (and I worry about him since he is disabled).

  3. Leslie says:

    Congrats on the test passing, Tom!

    And your mother will be in the prayers, along with you and your family. Take the time to say all you need to say. Be safe.

  4. Pete says:

    Truly sorry to hear about your mother

  5. Tom says:

    Leslie and Pete – Thank you for your prayers.

  6. Z says:

    I’m praying for you and your mother, Tom.
    I haven’t been visiting much, as you know, but something led me here today to see how the job hunt’s going and I am so thrilled to see your news about passing that certification..way to GO!
    God bless you and yours, Tom.

    xxx

  7. Tom says:

    Thanks, Z. Visit when you can. Have a safe Thanksgiving.

  8. Mr Pink Eyes says:

    Sorry to hear about your Mom, I hope that she recovers and that you still have some quality time with her. It must be hard this time of the year to be going through this.
    Best wishes.

  9. Tom says:

    Thanks, Mr. Pink Eyes.

    Unfortunately, her condition is terminal. All that can be done is to make her comfortable and try to improve her quality of life in her last days.

Comments are closed.