8 Weeks Ago …

I walked out of the Chrysler Technical Center for the last time as an employee

It still sucks.

Since that time, I watched Chrysler file for Chapter 11, and GM is on the precipice of doing the same.  All the while, I’ve also watched the government through President Obama state that government doesn’t want to run the automotive companies, but has demanded the resignations of several executives, ramrodded a deal with Fiat at the expense of secured bondholders, and made announcements that the government will demand or direct, as part of its loans to the automotive companies, the types of cars that the companies are to build.

It must be absolutely reassuring to the clueless that government will take care of us all while destroying the means of income to thousands of people, employees and investors alike.  And yes, that means the UAW too, because the government can only prop up these companies for a limited period of time, and that will end when it becomes politically expedient to do so.

And that means that the unemployment rate will rise to new levels, especially in Michigan where the rate is currently 12.6%!!  And the Governor is wondering why people are leaving the state in droves.

I have looked for jobs out of state, and while just starting to scratch the surface, there isn’t a whole lot out there for a person of my background.  And with the job market flooded with people looking for work, companies can certainly pick and choose who they want. 

I don’t know what is next.  Jobs within the state are few and far between.  Jobs out of state mean that selling the house would mean a huge loss.  It’s never fun being caught between two rocks, and that is exactly where I am at.

It may mean that I would need to change careers, and that is going to be a daunting task because it would almost mean that I would need to start at the very bottom again.  I’m not greedy – I’m just looking for something that I can do so that my wife and I can live comfortably and save for a comfortable retirement.  Unfortunately, I may not have the time nor the money to be able to get the educational qualifications for a new career.

Yep, it really sucks…

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Automotive, Business, Government, Social Engineering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 8 Weeks Ago …

  1. Seane-Anna says:

    Hey, Tom. Sorry to hear you’re having a hard time finding employment. I do hope things improve for you soon. Try not to get too discouraged.

  2. Joe says:

    “It still sucks.”

    You got that right!

    My own job has been cut back to 6 hours at the office, the rest from home and my pay is almost like getting none: $500.00 per MONTH.

    Still, God has been and will be faithful.

    Something will break for you…soon.

  3. Tom says:

    Seane-Anna – Thank you for the encouragement. I have my good days and my bad days.

    Joe – Something will break for all of us soon. But of course, just like everyone else, we want it NOW!!

  4. At lot of people are in this same tough spot.

    How much unemployment can our economy absorb?

  5. jimmyb says:

    It does suck, Tom.
    I’m laid off right now too, but the way GM is, I hope I get to go back to work at all.
    You have my best wishes and prayers, sir.

  6. Tom says:

    AOW – The unemployment crisis will last as long as the President continues to meddle in the market.

    jimmyb – And you too have my best wishes and prayers.

Comments are closed.