The Importance of Exercise

As some of you know, my wife and I work out two to three times a week (she does more than that, I’m ashamed to say).  She has lost over 30 pounds, and I have lost around 20, and we are maintaining our “ideal” weight.  So when we get something like the below in an email, we have to share.


  1. Walking 20 minutes can add to your life. This enables you at 85 years old to spend an additional 5 months in a nursing home at $7000 per month.
  2. My grandpa started walking five miles a day when he was 60.. Now he’s 97 years old … and we haven’t a clue where he is.
  3. I like long walks, especially when they are taken by people who annoy me.
  4. The only reason I would take up walking is so that I could hear heavy breathing again.
  5. I have to walk early in the morning, before my brain figures out what I’m doing.
  6. I joined a health club last year, spent about 400 bucks. I haven’t lost a pound. Apparently you have to actually go there.
  7. Every time I hear the dirty word ‘exercise’, I wash my mouth out with chocolate.
  8. The advantage of exercising every day is so when you die, they’ll say, “Well, he looks good, doesn’t he.”
  9. If you are going to try cross-country skiing, start with a small country.
  10. I know I got a lot of exercise the last few years, just getting over the hill was enough.
  11. We all get heavier as we get older, because there’s a lot more information in our skulls. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.
  12. Every time I start thinking too much about how I look, I just find a Happy Hour and by the time I leave, I look just fine.

You could run this over to your friends, but just e-mail it to them.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Humor, Satire and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Importance of Exercise

  1. Mustang says:

    I don’t know if you’re aware of this, but several years ago, LA Sunset was tired of being a couch potato … so he went to Gold’s Gym and transformed himself in a six-pack sort of guy. He has more musle mass than Øbama has dope and chains. After a few years, he decided to vie in the Mr. America competition. So he applied, went through several local, regional events, and was finally elevated into the Mr. America pagent.

    Soon afterwards, he lost his citizenship. Damn sad case.

  2. Z says:

    VERY VERY funny list…
    Excellent results for the two of you, Tom! Congratulations!
    I had NO idea about LA SUNSETT, Mustang! (dope and chains..I like it!)…what country IS he representing now? heh

    (My word Anti-Spam word is BROAD…..how’d they KNOW? 🙂

  3. Teresa says:

    I giggled when I read this. 🙂 And, I applaud your weight loss. Good for you. Stick with it!

  4. Tom says:

    Mustang – But at least LA is still here in the US, and could possibly dethrone Ah-Nold as the Governor of California (if he moves out to the Left-Coast). Hopefully, LA won’t let himself go to pot like Ah-Nold has.

    Z – Thank you! And as far as the anti-spam word is concerned, they are totally random. You must be in tune with the universe!

    Teresa – It’s been a three year journey to get to this point, and we’re not going to let it go, even if it means that the wife and I are going to be chasing each other around the nursing home!

  5. Joe says:

    I was a VERY active person, having played football, been a Youth Director and having played at least two games of tennis and two of racquetball every week.

    Then I took on a sedentary job and gained a bunch-and-a-half of weight.

    Now my heart is bad and I NEED to exercise it, but my right leg will not allow me to stand up…so I would have to roll to the gym.

    So, I will adopt the list as my mantra and stop worrying about my weight and inactivity, because worry causes stress, stress causes heart troubles and heart troubles can cause leg troubles.

    I want to avoid all of that…oops!…too late.

  6. Tom says:

    Joe – Only part of the exercises that we do involve legs. There are other exercises that can be done to improve your health. Just don’t give up – that’s key. Find a physical therapist that knows what they are doing to strengthen the knee.

    I was also very active when I was younger, took a sedentary job, and gained weight besides getting bad knees & a bad back. Proper strength training took care of all of that and more. While I can’t play tennis (knees won’t take the twisting from changing direction, but at least I can walk without pain), I can do lots of other things like running & walking the course playing golf.

Comments are closed.