What’s Next?

Here it is, Monday, three days past Final Friday, and I’ve just seen the wife out the door.  It almost feels like a vacation day…

Almost…

In many respects, I have been very fortunate in my professional life.  In the past twenty-five years I’ve been out of work for only two-weeks.  But even then, I had job prospects lined up.  And this time last week, I did.

But that job disappeared as fast as a fart in the wind.  They let me know the next day (Tuesday) that their contracts had either been canceled or postponed due to the economy, and to call back in a few months.  And now, there is nothing on the horizon.

Yes, I’ll be trolling the Internet and the newspaper for job leads, but with Michigan at over 11% unemployment, and lots of them fellow engineers, it’s going to be tough, very tough, to find a job.  And when (not if) I do find a position, I know that I will be taking a cut in pay & benefits, and will most likely not have a pension but a 401K without company matching (and we all know how those are doing these days…).

So it looks like I’m probably going to turn a hobby into a side business, and maybe into a full-time business if it takes off.  No, it’s not blogging for food…

It’s web-page programming for personal & business sites, and Blogger & WordPress templates for blogging and content-management.  The good part is that one of my fellow refugees from last Friday is starting up a business of her own, and I will be working on a web-site for her.  Her husband (also a former Chrysler employee) is starting up a business with his brother, so there might be something there too.

The bad part is that I know I’ve got a long way to go – it’s much different creating pages from scratch than it is taking a current design and modifying it.  I know this from my past machine-programming experience.  It’s not something that someone can jump into and do well.

In the meantime, I’ll work on updating the industrial electronics skill-set for the next job as well as learning & working on this new endeavor.

There’s always hope…as long as you don’t give up.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Next?

  1. Angel says:

    good luck! 😛

  2. Tom says:

    Thanks, Angel!

Comments are closed.