Woeful Wednesday

Here it is, 3:30 in the morning, and today is the day that I’m planning on handing in my application for an early buyout.  I’ve been up since midnight…

There are so many things running through my mind as well as riding the emotional rollercoaster.  If I was to narrow it down to a couple of emotions it would be sadness and anger.

The sadness is that I’m leaving a job that I like.  All the other jobs that I have left before were also good positions (some better than others), but I always had the sense of moving on to a better place, a better position.  That isn’t the case here.  I feel that I’m being pushed out, and that is simply because I have no other reasonable course of action.

Besides all the other items that I have listed in previous postings, there are a couple of new ones that are on the list.  And they all came yesterday.

  • I found out that one of the groups in my department has been told that they were going to be eliminated, so if they didn’t retire or take the buyout, they would be laid off without any hope of returning.
  • The Union announced officially that the jobs bank has been eliminated, but the SUB pay is not at this point, but is on the negotiation table.
  • The "non-binding agreement" between Fiat and Chrysler will not save my department – it’s too little, too late, and would actually help eliminate my department as well as a couple of others.

Which all leads me to the next emotion on the list – anger.

My wife and I have done just about everything right.  The events of the past year were all completely out of our hands, and we are getting hosed.  Self-serving people in business and politics have all created the situation where millions of people are getting screwed over.  I may be in decent shape, but there are untold thousands that are worse off.

And that’s where the rage is starting to boil up from the anger.

I already know that the movers and shakers of the company will, through meeting their goals of cutting heads and making partnerships with other companies, come out ahead with millions in bonuses and accolades for a job well done.  And perhaps they deserve it, but not at the cost of screwing over the people that made the company a success in the first place.  I’m just a number with a price tag attached to it – no longer a person, but an asset to be disposed of, a financial liability.  Never mind what I can contribute to the success of the company.  "People are our most valuable asset." – my a** !

I see where the politicians pose and preen, stating that they are the solution to the problem at hand, never mind that they set up the governmental policies that created the problem in the first place.  Yes, they state that they care about you, the American people.  The hypocrites…of course they have their jobs, pensions, and health care separate from that of the common person, so they really don’t care as long as they keep getting elected.  They are in charge, and a fine job they are not doing.

I hear our new President promise hope and change, but it’s starting to sound like more of the same, especially since some of the names and faces are ghosts from the past.  And I’m not supposed to be surprised…

I still have to go to work today, feeling the way I do, and hand in a life-changing piece of paper that I don’t want to do but have to because it’s the only chance I feel that I have of making the best of a bad situation…

Yeah, it’s going to be a really crappy day…

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.