The Balloon

Considering that the CEOs from the Big 3 are returning to Washington this week to ask again for a bridge loan for their respective companies, I thought that the below was a great analogy:

A man is flying in a hot air balloon and realizes that he is lost. He reduces height and spots a man down below.  He lowers the balloon further and shouts:

“Excuse me, Sir, can you tell me where I am?”

The man below says: “Yes!  You are in a hot air balloon, hovering 20 feet above this field.”

“You must be an engineer,” says the balloonist.

“I am,” replies the man.  “How did you know?”

“Well,” says the balloonist, “everything you told me is technically correct, but it is of no use to anyone.”

The man below says:  “You must be in management.”

“I am,” replies the balloonist, “but how did you know?”

“Well,” says the man on the ground, “you don’t know where you are, or where you are going, but you expect me to help. You are in the same position you were before we met, but now it’s my fault.”

You may draw your own conclusions.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Humor, Satire and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.