Where’s the Relief?

And no, I’m not referring to an upset stomach, but this almost qualifies for a triple dose of Pepto, Rolaids, and Pepsid.  If you are like me, you are watching your retirement funds losing over 25% of their value, and there’s almost nothing you can do about it.

One week after the Congress passed and the President signed the $700 Billion bailout bill to the credit markets, the economy of the world is tanking faster than a rock on steroids.  Wasn’t this emergency bill supposed to avert this crisis?

Is anyone else out there thinking that we just got shafted again?

If anything, this continued fiasco should tell all of us that our elected officials don’t know what they are doing except to find ways of extracting more money out of us on the pretense of "helping" us.  If this is helping, I would hate to think of what these clowns would do to hurt us!

Obviously, those who were elected are obviously unqualified to lead our country much less the financial sector.  I advocate that we pass the hurt on to them – vote for whomever is not in office, i.e., do not re-elect anyone!!  Register your dissatisfaction via the ballot box and vote these bozos out!  Perhaps some new people will take it to heart and do a better job.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Business, Economy, Government and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Where’s the Relief?

  1. NEO, SOC says:

    I think this is why we vote in Ron Paul! That’s where my votes going and maybe he can clean house quickly. shoprat has an excellent post you need to see.

  2. Tom says:

    Neo, I don’t think Ron Paul has a realistic chance against either candidate. As much as I like his message, the reality is that he will not garner the votes necessary to win the Presidency. You would also have to look at which candidate would benefit from a vote for Ron Paul, which I think would be Obama (who, I believe, is worse than McCain).

    As far as Shoprat’s post is concerned, my wife and I are going to look at just that scenario. It can be a bargain hunter’s dream.

  3. LASunsett says:

    My Congressman is mostly an honorable man that has helped me in a situation a year or so ago. He is also deeply entrenched in a GOP district that has not elected a Democrat, since I have lived in this state.

    There is Democrat running against him, who has no money and probably does not have a snowball’s chance in hell of making it in. He is holding a meet and greet around the cornet from me next week and I am seriously considering going to it, to see what he’s all about. He will be appearing with an ex-senator from this state, who has been out of politics for many years.

    I am an independent, so I owe no one anything. My plan is to evaluate his stances and if given the opportunity to share how I feel about the shenanigans that BOTH parties have been pulling over the past several years. I may get thrown out, but hey….

    I believe that after so long a time, even the most sincere elected officials get corrupted after holding power for a long period of time. For this reason, I am wanting to believe that the American people truly have the guts to vote a slew of incumbents out this fall. But, I am not holding my breath.

  4. Check out this information. GWB says he won’t, but who knows?

    We need a purge of politicians.

  5. Jennifer says:

    THe worst part of this whole thing is it accomplished nothing but putting us further in debt. All these different causes are getting thousands while the value of my house continues to drop. Those that voted for it, definitely need to go, although, even though I am voting for him, McCain was just as bad.

  6. Mustang says:

    I’m not an economist, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night. Bush said early on that it took us several years to “get to where we are now,” so don’t expect any immediate fixes. Our economy doesn’t work “immediately.” If you think about it, I don’t think any of us would want it to. Remember, we aren’t talking about a family sized bank account.

    I agree with Tom that other than allowing politicians to push pet projects through both houses of Congress, and to institute greater government control over private enterprise, the bail out bill simply enabled politicians to escape public scrutiny. Four-hundred economists implored Congress to take no action until hearings; three of these were Nobel Laureates. But Congress didn’t want hearings . . . they don’t want Americans to find out what they’ve been up to.

    The economy is a science; the stock market is an art. As an art, it is subject to emotion. When journalists and talking heads use such words as “panic” and “sell-off,” they do no more than create fear and uncertainty among stock investors. One bozo even told people to take their money out of the stock market if they ever wanted to see it again. I have never heard a more irresponsible statement, ignoring statements made by Pelosi.

    What investors should do depends on how old they are and how close they are to retirement. A young person invested in mutual funds should do nothing. And older investor should consider transferring money into certificates of deposit, or municipal or savings bonds. Under no set of circumstances should an investor throw him or herself out a 10-story window. In fact, I would even say that if you have money stashed away, the time to buy stocks is when the price is low.

    Relief may eventually come to us when we replace Congress with a Cray super-computer. Well, that’s what Jennifer said.

  7. Tom says:

    LASunset – In many respects, you are correct. Some politicians DO want to represent the people that elected them. But over time, they become more like the people around them, and become corrupted with the power that they originally opposed.

    AOW – Who knows what’s going to happen? If I did, I would be a rich man by now…

    Jennifer – I’m still trying to figure out how many generations will be paying for this latest fubar. And that’s if nothing else happens along the way.

    Mustang – Sorry, I stayed at the Hilton, but it was in Germany…

    Congress is corrupt beyond even my fertile imagination, and it never ceases to amaze me what they do to cover up their own incompetence. For instance, Bill O’Rielly had Barney Frank on and flamed him for statements that he made about the stability of Fanni Mae and Freddie Mack. Frank denied that he made those statements, even though the video was replayed for him. The bottom line is that these officials think that we, the People, are idiots, and they can get away with almost anything.

  8. Mustang says:

    Well, Tom . . . Barney’s been in the House since 1981, so we at least we know some people are idiots.

  9. localsoandso says:

    Is it just me, or has anyone else noticed that none of the politicians on either side have called for investigations? There’s been no rules changes proposed, no calls to strengthen the SEC, nothing of the sort. Kind of weird isn’t it? The silence is deafening.

    Maybe it’s too early for all that, but if both sides are guilty, who’s going to investigate the corruption? It’s always what they don’t say that’s the most important.

  10. Gayle says:

    We just bought stocks. Ford is selling at 1.98 a share, at least that’s what we got them for when we bought them. Of course buying stocks now is for a long term investment, but it’s the smart thing to do.

    I wouldn’t reccommend buying Chrysler though. LOL!

  11. Tom says:

    Mustang – Idiots electing idiots? Is that poetic justice or just pathetic? You decide…

    Local – No, it isn’t surprising as both Parties have been complicit in this mess. Neither one wants too much scrutiny.

    Gayle – Hope you bought a bunch as Ford is up past $4 a share. As far as Chrysler is concerned, since it is a private company, stock cannot be purchased…although if they merge with GM as rumored, it might become available.

Comments are closed.