Vacation and a Change.

By the time you read this, my wife and I should be winging our way to places much warmer than Michigan for a week or so.  Snow up to my knees, so where’s the Global Warming?

Since there won’t be Internet access, I can just feel the withdrawal symptoms already.  But I think the wife is going to feel it more!

Also, I believe I’m going to move the blog again.  So soon, you may ask?  While I like WordPress, I just don’t like the templates that they have.  I guess it’s the creative part in me that wants to change things (or the engineer part – I can’t tell the difference sometimes).

The new blog will be at Tom’s Place (tomsplace.iblogger.org).  There are some posts there to see how the blog looks, but don’t comment there yet!!  I will import all the posts and comments to the new blog around February 18 after we get back and officially launch the site.

I will most likely keep the Blogger site (Tom’s Common Sense) and this site up for nostalgic reasons as well as providing links to the new blog, but updating will be rare, and comments will most likely not be transferred past the 18th.

So everyone get ready – there are more changes on the way!  And I apologize in advance for the trouble that this could cause.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vacation and a Change.

  1. Pamela Reece says:

    Tom,

    I’m sure all will work out. I know how it feels when we all just need a change. I just did a huge overhaul of my website but I couldn’t have done it without the help of some friends. I am happy with the new look and I didn’t have to change my web address.

    You should seriously consider using Semilogic. They have grown and added so many options and it continues to grow rapidly. Besides that, there are forums and docs to help you with great support. I would never go back to blogger.

    At any rate, I wish you all the best as you make your next move. Keep us posted!

  2. wordsmith says:

    How does one transfer one’s work from an old blog, to a new one? Without just going through a painful process of, one by one, cutting and pasting archived posts?

  3. Teresa says:

    The global warming is in Indiana. We have had NO snow this winter to speak of. Have a great vacation.

  4. Tom,
    Hope that your vacation brings you lots of r&r.

    You’re moving again? You’re so peripatetic.

  5. Tom says:

    Pam – Everyone needs to change once in a while. I’m just wanting to move to an independent host so I have more control. And no, I’m not a control freak! (I think…)

    Wordsmith – WordPress will import all of Blogger’s posts and comments through an import utility. The problem that I had is that it will not import any comments from Haloscan unless you have a premium account there. You should have no problems since you use the default Blogger commenting system. Let me know if you have any questions or need help – just drop me an email.

    Teresa – Can’t say that about Michigan!! Snow, snow, and more snow!

    AOW – Peripatetic? Hmmm…

    per

Comments are closed.