Chrysler Picket Line Notes

Against all my fears, we walked out of the building shortly after 11:00 this morning and headed for the picket line. Not a good feeling, I assure you.

I would much rather have been at my desk earning a living. But that’s not the case.

My first taste on carrying a sign this afternoon was mixed. Yeah, there were those idiots that screamed and hollered at foreign cars as they turned in, and those that behaved like children on recess, but for the most part, things were well behaved. That could change if this lasts more than a week.

Second time around is tomorrow morning at 6:00 am. Not looking forward to it – it promises to be a cold morning with rain. Yuck…

UPDATE!!!

It appears that the strike against Chrysler is over. Details are pending, but at least I’ll be back at work tomorrow.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Union and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chrysler Picket Line Notes

  1. Tom says:

    When I was a little girl, my father had to walk out on strike for a full month. The dispute was settled, and the workers were no better off than before.

    My family was very fortunate. My parents had a savings account, so we didn’t feel the pinch of the strike. But others were not so fortunate. I recall having a lot of guests–Dad’s fellow workers–coming over for dinner during that month. Plus, Dad used that month to catch up on some deferred maintenance around the house.

    Dad refused to walkt the picket line. He thought it was foolishness and all for show.
    Always On Watch | Homepage | 10.12.07 – 10:41 pm | #

Comments are closed.