The Prius Polluter?

According to Central Connecticut State University’s The Recorder Online, the Toyota Prius causes more pollution than a Hummer.  Most of this is due to the materials used in its construction.  Also, it takes more energy to create and run one of these vehicles than a conventional car.

What is not addressed in the article is the question:  What do you do with the Prius batteries once they wear out?  Batteries can only be charged and recharged so many times, and the chemicals used in them will degrade over time.  And some of the chemicals used are pretty nasty.  And let’s not forget the amount of energy that will be required to recycle the batteries as well.

I have my own ideas on what an economically-friendly personal transportation system could be in the future, and the technologies are being developed or are already here.  But that’s a post for a later time.

In the meantime, remember that the hype on eco-friendly cars, global warming, and carbon-credits is not what it is cracked up to be.  More than ever, I believe that there are political agendas being addressed instead of real problems.

About Tom Roland

EE for 25 Years, Two Patents - now a certified PMP. Married twice, burned once. One son with Asperger's Syndrome. Two cats. Conservative leaning to the Right. NRA Life Member.
This entry was posted in Energy, Environment, Global Warming, Transportation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Prius Polluter?

  1. Pingback: Energy, Global Warming, & The Economy « Tom’s Fireside Chat

  2. Tom says:

    So, the Prius is another scam. I should have expected that!
    Always On Watch | Homepage | 04.08.07 – 11:31 am | #

    OT from below. A friend tells me that the sale of Chrysler is in effect a way to break the union. Something about a seperate entity building the cars and selling them to Chrysler to sell. Kerkorian sticking his nose in it will screw up the deal. My friend is an insider that has manny friends, also used to work with Tom I think. If his info is’nt accurate it is close.
    Tom C | Homepage | 04.08.07 – 11:32 am | #

    I’ve had my Prius only two months, during which I have already saved over 200 gallons of gasoline & $600 in costs vs what my 4 cylynder Jeep would have consumed.
    Over the course of the 10 years iexpect to have this Prius, it appears I will save 12,000 gallons of gas & $36k.
    How much energy did you say it takes for the Prius vs a conventional car to build & recycle?
    Bill Wotring | 04.08.07 – 12:16 pm | #

    Ya think!? LOL

    Ok “Happy Easter”
    dcat still @it | Homepage | 04.08.07 – 4:47 pm | #

    Bill – Follow the link for the specifics. Also, remember that you are the exception – most people only hang on to a car 4 to 5 years on the average.

    dcat – Happy Easter to you too!

    Tom C – I work for DCx in the Tech Center. There are so many different rumors going around it’s incredible. And of course, the morale is sinking every single day. And the thought of breaking the Union has occurred to many of us as well.

    AOW – The Prius is a response to a political direction started on the left coast. While I think it is a good start, I dislike the mandate or assertion that this is the answer to all our problems, and have it shoved down our throats.
    Tom | Homepage | 04.08.07 – 7:24 pm | #

    Uhh Bill. Good luck with the prius and try comparing it apple to apple. Tom the mechanic.
    Tom C | 04.09.07 – 11:41 am | #

    You won’t see this story on the TODAY show.
    Conservative Dad | Homepage | 04.10.07 – 9:11 pm | #

    Either BW drives more then average two families or his math is off a bunch. I travel a lot and rarely use more then 130 gallons of gas in a two month period.

    But I will add I went by a wreck between a dhummer and a Prius the other day the owner of the hummer was standing aside the wreck explaining to the trooper what had happened and the Prius driver was heading for the hospital in the ambulance. Further the Prius driver looked to be at fault.

    I am sure the newspaper will have a headline hummer is better for you then a prius.
    Pirate | Homepage | 04.11.07 – 1:44 pm | #

    I had not thought about battery degradation. That is a valid question.
    Shoprat | Homepage | 04.11.07 – 9:01 pm | #

    I went back and looked it up. I use about eighty gallons a month and am on the road two hours a day. My car is a plain ole Honda Civic. I also have a Chevy Z71 that sits in the yard until I need a truck. If I were to drive the truck I still don’t think I would use 200 gallons of gas in two months.
    Tom C | Homepage | 04.14.07 – 11:31 am | #

    Tom C – I’m thinking that BW is a sales rep because of the number of miles he alludes to driving.

    Conservative Dad – You will not see very much coverage that is contrary to the established ecological agenda (man bad, nature good) and the rantings of the Goracle.

    Pirate – Physics tells us that the more mass you have, the better chance you have of surviving a collision (same concept with cars and football players…)

    Shoprat – There isn’t a battery yet that doesn’t die withing a certain number of recharge cycles. And getting rid of them is sometimes a pain too. Makes me wonder if BW understands this – I seem to remember that the batteries in the Prius were expected to last 5 years under normal use.
    Tom | Homepage | 04.15.07 – 1:56 pm | #

Comments are closed.